The Second Floor of Old Main contained four classrooms situated at the corners of the building, Old Main’s iconic Library, and the first floor of the two storied Assembly Hall. The Assembly Hall had a stage and served as a multipurpose room before its renovation. The Library was constructed with expansive oak shelves with study nooks and an upper catwalk. The library is one of the only rooms in Old Main to remain basically unaltered over the years; though, it now houses the Department of Admissions and not the library. Old Main began to be phased out as a library and classroom building as other buildings were built on campus beginning in the 1950s.
Mouse over the floorplan below to view archival images and photographs taken right after construction was completed in 1905.